Aberlasting Clover

Mike O

A good 3 year old buck
What can you guys tell me about Aberlasting clover. Is it slow to establish like Kura? Considering a mix with other white clovers like Rennovation or Jumbo II but want to be sure it can hold its own during establishment year.

I have no experience with this variety of clover

I do know that its aberlasting expensive

bill

I planted quite a bit of it this year but I always plant it in a mix. I shoot for 10%.

I like the idea of it in spots I spray and bag seed- places I can mow but not run my seeder through. No idea if it works though. I had some Kura in a spot I planted years ago that was mostly un-maintained for a lot of years and it was still there this year when I cleaned that spot up.

I have had good experience with it from a persistence and attractiveness standpoint. Seemed to establish as quickly as other clovers. The severe drought we had this summer fall really knocked it back but not anymore (probably less) than other clover varieties. Would definitely plant again, and I include it in all my clover mixes.

It’s my go to right now, but like others said it was so dry this year really hard to tell on it. I did add some more this fall but not a ton, we will see what comes back.

I do have some buds that swear by it over the past few years.

Last edited:
omicron, what did you mix it with? I have been really impressed with Rennovation and Legacy and usually throw in some Jumbo II.

omicron, what did you mix it with? I have been really impressed with Rennovation and Legacy and usually throw in some Jumbo II.
A little whitetail institute and regalgraze, plus a few annuals. They did awesome for spring, just didn’t survive the brutal hot and dry summer. Not sure any clover could have. Added more chicory and trying some white and yellow sweet clover too

IMG_0626.jpeg