cherry tree trouble

jaximus

5 year old buck +
my brother got some cherry trees on sale from menards for $10 each a while back. he planted them real close to the apple trees we already had in, but now they starting to show signs of trouble.

not 100% sure what is ailing them, but here are a few pics

i thought maybe fireblight, but the internet mentioned brown rot. i have no experience with either.

CIMG0661_zpsaz40ujsb.jpg

CIMG0658_zpsazl2trpv.jpg

CIMG0656_zps0tgpug8r.jpg

CIMG0655_zpsuslsokar.jpg

I am leaning towards fireblight as well. Fireblight affects more than just apples and pears. However some fire blight strains are specific to what they infect. So you might want to research if fire blight on cherries will affect other fruit trees you might have.

If they're sweet cherries and you planted them in central WI....they were going to die this winter anyway

Not hardy enough? I was going to try grafting some sweet or tart cherries onto my wild black cherrys that i hinge cut. Sounds like maybe it's a waste of time and effort and is a good way to introduce disease?

Tart (pie) cherries would likely survive a "normal" winter. Sweet cherries won't survive a "mild" central WI winter.

Stu is on the money. They dont even reccomend sweet cherries for zone 5b. Sweet cherries are like peaches in that they are generally looking for a reason to die! That doesnt stop people from trying to grow them though. Ed you would want to check the compatibility of wild black cherry with sweet cherry as well. Sweet and tart cherries arent compatible on all rootstocks.

Sweet and tart cherries arent compatible on all rootstocks.

Understood. This is just 100% experiment. I plan to also try putting an apple on a black cherry just to see if somehow it would survive. Not likely but no harm in trying.

Understood. This is just 100% experiment. I plan to also try putting an apple on a black cherry just to see if somehow it would survive. Not likely but no harm in trying.