What to mix with fall Oats?

Mike O

A good 3 year old buck
Looking for suggestions for somthing to mix with fall Oats next year. Was considering winter peas but now leaning towards dwarf essex rape or purple top turnips.

Oats can be nursery crop for alot of things. Do you need to lime or fertilize? Using a seed drill? Doing any tillage? Weed problems? Whats there now?

I pretty much buy or copy plotspike forge feast. Oats, wheat, clovers, brassicas, winter peas, and a bit of chicory. Did this with some hairy vetch. Worked very well. I'm new to rye, my second year, but i would throw that in a few weeks later.. 6 weeks before a frost.

How early or late you plant for the season might dictate what to put in or avoid. Alot folks had a dry season this year. Definitely have a late season plan B.

Where are you located? Up here oats frost kill early in the season so having other species that are still desirable later is a necessity.

Clover, peas, and brassicas are all good to plant with them followed by a later broadcast of a winter cereal (wheat, rye, triticale) is ideal.

Western Upper Penninsul of Michigan. Have planted just about everything at this point and seems like the Cereal grains are about idiot proof to plant and the deer hammer them. Just wanted to add some variety so probably just do turnips. Will be planting last week in August. Would mix in some rye but I plan on planting clover, alfalfa, chicory in those plots next year and do not want to deal with the rye straw.

What about Frosty Berseem mixed with Oats?

What about Frosty Berseem mixed with Oats?
They'll probably winter kill and i wouldn't expect much growth if planted in late August. I guess the limited fall growth thing goes for most any clover.

Why not plant a winter hardy clover, chicory, and alfalfa with the oats in the fall? They may not amount to much in the fall but should result in better establishment the following year. Let the cereals do the work for the fall attraction.