Switchgrass options

Troubles Trees

5 year old buck +
I am planning for next years spring planting and I want to introduce something I have zero experience with and I know some of you have a plethora of experience with this topic. As I look online at the link below (I got the link from a comment somewhere on this site) it doesn't specify if any of these products are annual or a perennial plants, nor does it say what hardiness zones this stuff can endure. Here in NY winters can get pretty cold so it is part of my concern. I know many of you use MG and I will include it in this leg of the adventure but the cost is certainly a factor for as much area as I would like to cover. My soil isn't the greatest so that is also a factor, I would like a perennial and something that can take bad winters.
Cave In Rock and Egyptian Wheat I have read about on here a few times, I like the idea of using seed as it is quicker to get in the ground than MG and since I don't have access to a tiller, frost seeding is ideal and preferably without spraying but that is an option. I don't mind putting in some manual labor to hand scratch the surface with a rake to get a better germination rate, it would be at least 1 but less than 2 acres total.

What are the best options to achieve my goal here?

https://www.northwoodswhitetails.com/product-category/spring-planting/

Last edited:
Egyptian wheat is a grain sorghum, much like corn, milo, etc. It is an annual that has to be planted every year. Like other sorghums, its a high nitrogen user and responds best when kept as weed free as possible. It stands thru the fall and early winter but will thin out and fall with snowfalls, etc. You cannot frost seed EW, it has to be planted after the soil temps are warm enough (65-70 F), much like any other warm season annual green/grain.