Cultipacker vs Lawn roller?

Big G-2

5 year old buck +
Can someone give me the reasons of using a true ribbed Cultipacker vs a smooth lawn roller? What exactly do you gain by the ribs on a roller? Isn't the idea, just to push the seed into the ground a little bit for seed to soil contact? I would think a regular lawn roller would get that done, but I'm a rookie at this, so maybe someone can explain? Thanks.....

I've used both and while I don't know the science behind it, the cultipacker did produce a better plot. I would hazard to guess the ribs push the seed into the soil better.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have a lawn roller but no cultipacker. Done lots of plots with side by side comparisons.
On disked plots: roller vs drag = no difference, roller vs spring tooth = no difference, roller vs hard rain = no difference.
Throw n mow: no differences.
I've tried a lot of things with this roller and will probably continue to use it once in a while if I see the right situation, but I've found it isn't necessary.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

I have a lawn roller but no cultipacker. Done lots of plots with side by side comparisons.
On disked plots: roller vs drag = no difference, roller vs spring tooth = no difference, roller vs hard rain = no difference.
Throw n mow: no differences.
I've tried a lot of things with this roller and will probably continue to use it once in a while if I see the right situation, but I've found it isn't necessary.

So what do you like to do now, just spread seed on top, and leave it?

I'm 100% throw n mow now. Haven't worked dirt for several yrs.