All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where To Start

Wisco

Yearling... With promise
Hi Folks - You may have just seen my post in the "Who are you?" thread, but I'm new to the Habitat Talk group. I have LOTS of questions and was wondering if there's a certain resource any you would recommend I read up on prior to posting a bunch of "stupid" questions. Perhaps a book, a YouTube series, a couple of threads full of good info... Anything helps.

Additional background that could help: Primarily manage (by myself) my family property of 70 acres in SE WI, mostly hardwoods and swamp, but have some access to fields. Probably my favorite part of hunting is habitat improvement, but I'm somewhat limited on supplies/hands. Own a brush-mower, 4 wheeler, and a chainsaw, but have some awesome friends with farm equipment (that I'd like to avoid taking advantage of).

Common questions from me without pre-reading may look like:

"I just planted my foodplot half clover (shady edges) and half brassica (sunny middle). Now I'm reading about cereal rye and how much people live by it. Can I just add that to the mix by casting it on top of the other two?"

"What to plant for a plot screen?"

"SOO much buckthorn. How do you guys handle this issue?"

Thanks in advance for any pointers!
Caleb

Welcome to the site!

A good answer to your question would be to go here....these are the Paul Knox/Dbltree/LickCreek threads here and at the Iowa Whitetails forum.

http://habitat-talk.com/index.php?forums/lickcreek.11/

https://iowawhitetail.com/forum/forums/dbltrees-corner.45/