New plot

Peeps

5 year old buck +
I'm going to be planting a new brassicas food plot next week. The area was previously part of my back lawn so it consisted of short grass. The grass has been nuked and lime previously spread and I'll be picking up soil test results before planting. After the kill off I worked the soil some with my 4x8 drag harrow with the spikes down. The soil is somewhat sandy with leftover dead grass on top. My plan is to spread the rec fertilizer and urea and work that in with my drag and then broadcast my seed. Should I then drag over the seed with the teeth up to lightly cover and pack with my 4 wheeler tires as I don't have a cultipacker yet or should I skip using the drag to cover? This is my first try at brassicas. Thanks

Most brassica seed only needs to be covered with about 1/4" of soil, so whatever you do, it won't have to be much. I think your plan sounds good, but if the soil is very loose and you suspect you will get them too deep, you could skip the drag after broadcast and just pack them. For future reference, you could do half of the plot each way and see what your results end up being.

I like the idea of dragging half and running over half with the ATV to see which option works best. it's pretty easy to bury small seed too deep, so I'm guessing the half you run over with the ATV will be the best.

Before I got a cultipacker I had pretty good luck just spreading the small seed on disked and dragged soil. I let the seed just sit on top of the worked soil and the next rain seems to work it in pretty well and produced good results.

I think the drag might get them a little deep, I might just pack them with the tires of the ATV. I have used an old bed springs with a couple cinder blocks on it before I got my cultipacker, worked ok.

I think the drag might get them a little deep, I might just pack them with the tires of the ATV. I have used an old bed springs with a couple cinder blocks on it before I got my cultipacker, worked ok.