Two wheel drive tractors

treeguy

Yearling... With promise
Hello, I've been creeping for a while, but this is my first time making a post. I bought 33 acres last year and am looking to get a tractor this year. I've never had a tractor before, so I was wondering if getting a 2 wheel drive tractor would be a mistake? I am trying to get a tractor around 40 hp. I would use it a good bit for the property, but I think it will get a good bit of use around my house.

I am planning about 3 acres of food plots. I would like to get a tiller for a few projects but would most likely try to go no till. I will only be looking at tractors with loaders. I would also like to get a brushhog. I think the concern would be getting stuck. Our property is pretty dry, it does have a creek running through it, but there is s stone road going over it. There is also a big hill, but the stone road also goes up it. Our yard at our house is definitely wetter in the winter/spring than the property.

Thanks for your help.

Also, different question, but I have a 6 x 14" dump trailer. I'll have to measure the deck height, but would that be too tall to haul a tractor around? Most equipment trailers seem to be much lower.

I think you are asking about used tractors rather than new. Have you got some ideas what you want to spend?

40 HP is enough for a 6 foot tiller. If you want a loader then make sure you get power steering for sure. Four wheel drive or "assist" is really helpful with a loader, especially with light weight tractors......but lots of people have gotten along fine with 2WD. Just dont expect to work in muddy or high traction situations. You likely need Ag tires on a 2WD tractor too....and could go with industrial tires on a 4WD or perhaps turf tires........so you can work on your homes lawn and not make tracks, etc.

If you can afford it, I'd say buy 4WD. But money talks on tractors.......and it doesn't take long to spend 20K+ on a 40 HP tractor with a loader and 4WD.