TNM Eagle Seed Beans?

SwampCat

5 year old buck +
I have tried several different throw n mow plots, but not impressed so far. I have an area on some slope I have been planting five acres of beans for the past ten years using conventional tillage- but would like to keep from turning the soil. It is planted in wheat right now. Anyone use throw n mow on eagle seed beans? $100 per bag per acre is a little high for a failed crop for me. Wheat should be knee high by bean planting time. Spray it, then spread beans and fertilizer and mow it?

I could be wrong here, but I thought beans weren't a great option for t&m. For max germination, I think I'd find a guy with a no till drill and have him whip it out for you.

Are beans not a good option for tnm because they don’t germinate well or don’t grow well after germination?

I've had good luck getting beans to germinate, but they weren't soybeans and conditions for TnM were perfect those years. To answer your question; yes... spray it, spread them, mow it.

If you hadn't had good success with TnM I would be wary of doing this with expensive beans also. Is a no-till drill an option?

I've had good luck getting beans to germinate, but they weren't soybeans and conditions for TnM were perfect those years. To answer your question; yes... spray it, spread them, mow it.

If you hadn't had good success with TnM I would be wary of doing this with expensive beans also. Is a no-till drill an option?

I don’t know a soul with a no-till drill

I think they would work good with that much dead wheat to lay down on top of them.

I would go with a cheaper RR bean to lower costs until you know TnM works for you. Some are $25 per bag. Make sure you use inoculate. You are gonna need waist high to get you thatch, IMO.

You could also have huff deer density, even with 5 acres of beans.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk