The logging process begins.

chummer

5 year old buck +
I figured I would start a separate thread for the logging process I am about to start. I have no past experience with a logging operation so this is all new to me. Hopefully you guys can keep me on the right path. I closed last last Friday and the previous owner agreed to give me their logging bids as they came in. I just received the first bid and was very happy! The seller also told them I would want some areas clear cut for food plots. On top of their bid they also have agreed to pay $600 per acre they clear cut. I figured I would have to pay, so that was a nice bonus. Their bid was for everything 14" and up. I also have a walk through with a forester this Friday. He does not like that plan and wants to mark exactly which trees to take. I can't wait to see the difference in bids with the different styles. This bid was written up so well I almost feel like I don't need the forester. His walk through is free so I will at least hear what he has to say. Very excited to get this process started.

Good luck ... hopefully you have a good crew to partner with.

I should end up with 7-15 bids so hopefully I will be able to pick between a few good crews.

Just make sure you have what YOU want in writing. culverts, gravel, landing areas, access routes and leveled paths and even what is to happen with the tops - are all things to have covered.

I knew EVERY tree that was being cut on my place - over 700 trees! I specifically gave my personal OK on everyone. There where some the loggers really wanted or areas they wanted to cut that I said "NO". I even had them drop some that they didn't want simply because I wasn't comfortable messing with them. My place was previously high graded so I was hell-bent and determined to make sure it was screwed over under my watch.

Good luck Chummer! I hope everthing goes well for you.

Good luck, and it should be a fun process!

How big a chunk was it you bought again?