Rope height for licking/scrape?

Catscratch

5 year old buck +
I put this up yesterday. Had some curious critters overnight but none committed to using it. Of course I have a couple that were only interested in where I touched the post, but overall I think they were in the right frame of mind. Do I have the rope too high? It didn't seem all that high when I hung it but looking at pics with deer in them it seems high. What says you guys? This is my first time to hang a rope, always used branches before.

Screenshot_20231016_071042_Reveal.jpgScreenshot_20231016_071057_Reveal.jpgScreenshot_20231016_071118_Reveal.jpgScreenshot_20231016_071132_Reveal.jpgScreenshot_20231016_071148_Reveal.jpgScreenshot_20231016_071319_Reveal.jpg

I usually hang mine lower, around 4 feet off the ground. Seems to work, another thing to consider is getting it further out from the post. That would give them 360 degree access to it. Not sure how much that’s a factor though. on mine, I get fawns, does, and bucks working them and leaving their scent.

Might be a bit high, usually 5'-6' is good. Having tail of rope at eye level is my target. They will want to lick, rubs their eye glands across it, and move antlers across if.

I was standing on the uphill side when I cut it. Didn't realize it was that high until pics started showing up of deer coming from downhill. I'll add an extension when I get a chance.

I would only lower it by about 4 or 5 inches at most. I think if they get too low they become less appealing for whatever reason.

i run mine below my chest, sometimes jsut above my waist. and im 6' 2" , people tend to think deer are much taller than they are for some reason, when you stand next to a live one one you realize how short they are.

Product Idea for someone. Super hot pre-infused (with our own secret sauce) doe in heat genuine Buck Rope. Reg. USPO. Endorsed by P.T. Barnum hisself. 6 footer $25. 12' $40. Bulk 50 foot roll / $100. If I was only a younger man......Grin.