Persimmon drop times

R C

A good 3 year old buck
I planted many persimmons about five years ago but found that the deer kept the growth down until I either caged or put a tree shelter around them. I have been grafting to these for the last two years and have grafted the following: Yates, prok, deer candy, deer magnet, Lehman’s delight, Jon’s pride, wonderful, and H63A. I am also going to try Barbra’s blush and zima khurma. I plan to give all of these the taste test eventually but I planted these primarily to attract deer during the deer season so I would like them to fall off the trees at some point during the season so that I am not just feeding raccoons and possums. Can anyone tell me from the trees that you have, if these varieties actually drop off the tree on their own or if they hang until physically removed from the tree? Thanks, Rick.

All American persimmons are astringent protecting them from most animals until they ripen. They all fall of the tree. The timing depends on the variety and field conditions. It is only oriental persimmons that you have to worry about. They don't fall from the tree, so they don't feed deer well. Some are not astringent and get hit early by climbing critters.

You have a good mix!

Reactions: R C
Thanks, that’s what I want to hear. I have read or been told that Barbra’s blush and Morris Burton don’t fall off the tree very easily so I was becoming concerned about some of the other that I have planted. I would probably still plant them anyway but I would locate them in different areas so that I could hopefully take advantage of where they are located during the hunting season.