New to grafting

NorthWI

5 year old buck +
I have a few questions about grafting, I'm new to this and just started planting last spring. My hunting property is in northern WI zone 3. Last year I planted 15 two year old bare root apple seedlings from north 40 apple trees, a few ranetka crabapple seedlings from oikos (disappointed with oikos products) and 8 grafted trees from St Lawrence nursery. Most are thriving and put on new growth this year. I will be planting the same this spring minus the oikos order. I would like to graft some of the seedlings, my question is would it be better to bench graft the bare root seedlings I will receive this spring or top work the seedlings I had in the ground last spring. Also, can I get a viable scion from the top growth of the SLN trees I planted last year( they grew about a foot above there 5 foot tubes and are whips)? Can I snip off the tip of the bare root SLN trees I receive this spring and use this as a scion? Maybe I'm jumping the gun here but reading through these post about grafting has got me excited about it. All advice is welcome.
Thank you

I think sometimes those tips winter die back. Can you snip the tip then get a scion a little below that? Might be a better chance for success. Others will weigh in with more experience.

Bench grafting is probably preferable if you can spend the time and effort taking care of them. Field grafting is more practical if you don't have time or space to dedicate the young trees.

As for the tree tips, check the cambium is still green, but it should be a viable scion if it,'s still alive.