Large land owners

roosterstraw

5 year old buck +
Large land owners, how’d you do it? If you have a large amount of land (200+ acres), that wasn’t handed down to you and you’re not a doctor or make a crazy amount of money for your regular job, how’d you get to where you are? Was it by investing into land and selling to eventually get where you are? Did you buy little pieces at a time? Did you go into a large amount of debt? With land prices where they are today it seems very difficult for the blue collar guy to acquire large amounts of land without thinking outside of the box. I’d like to hear your stories and how you got to where you are in terms of land/acreage.

I'm in VA. I spent most of my hunting career hunting military bases and public land since moving from PA in my late 20s. I'm a Hunter Education instructor. I progressed fairly normally through the process of hunting and by my late 40s I began to start thinking more about wildlife management rather than just hunting and harvesting animals. I was lucky in that I moved from PA to VA during one of the real estate crashes and I was able to buy a house in an attractive area at the bottom of the market.

By the time I was in my 40s the house had appreciated significantly and I took out a home equity loan. I parked that money in the market while I was was beginning to look for a small property for hunting and eventual retirement. My passion at the time was bow hunting and I was looking for something in the 50-100 acre target in the general area where I hoped to retire. This had been a couple year project by this time. I happened to be chatting with another HE instructor and he mentioned that his son was looking to do the same thing. We got together and began chatting. It turned out that both of us had seen a pine farm for sale but it was way out of the price range of either of us. It happened to be in the right general area. My HE instructor friend also had a couple neighbors who were like-minded hunters.