Dr. Woods had some good points this week..

IkemanTx

5 year old buck +
So how long until Sturgis claims they were his ideas way back in the 90’s?

Dr. Woods’ understanding of thermals, displayed in this video, is pretty good. I have been floating silk from milkweed pods now for 5 years straight, probably a gallon or two a season. So I have watched dozens and dozens and dozens of thermals a season. That stand is a classic thermal drop stand setup. He absolutely nailed it. That is a stand many guys wouldn’t understand to set up, and he explained why it worked and how to set it up well.

I know a good portion of Dr. Grant’s ideas were covered in some form in threads on the “forum that shall not be named” and a number of guys give him grief for that. But, I feel like he came about it from a different direction. I have heard him say personally, and in speeches, that he takes a large amount of inspiration from Gabe Brown (Author of “Dirt to Soil”). Gabe’s methods are exactly what he preaches for food plots now. I think he just kinda happened to come to about the same conclusion LC was headed towards, but from a different direction. The research definitely supports multi species cover crops, and our food plots are basically a double cover crop system with no harvested crop. It makes sense that those two ideas would meet in the middle.

He has also put a tremendous amount of research and effort into native habitat manipulation, which I think offers a MUCH bigger bang for your buck than plotting for most habitat managers. Overall, I thought this was one of his most informative videos because it dealt with details most other sources aren’t willing or capable of diving into.

I can’t afford a no-till drill, nor a crimper... but I always seem to get something useful out of his videos.

Yep, yep. Woods is a bit of a bandwagon jumper, too.