Crab Apple seeds

chummer

5 year old buck +
I have a tree in my neighborhood still loaded with 2" apples. They have slowly been dropping for the last month. Can I still harvest some seeds from them or is it to late? We have had a few nights below 32 but nothing crazy yet, 8 being the lowest. I tried planting 100 seeds from them two years ago but I got them off the tree in February. That was a very cold winter. Out of 100 only one sprouted and then died. I may learn how to graft just for this tree. It drops from Decemper to March and is loaded every year. Until then I would like to get some seedlings started.

I sure think they would still be fine.

Clean the seeds and put them in the fridge with some wet paper towels. Keep an eye on them.

-John

I sure think they would still be fine.

Clean the seeds and put them in the fridge with some wet paper towels. Keep an eye on them.

-John
How long do I keep them in the fridge. I was going to put them right in the dirt.

I'm no expert, but I've done it in the past with great success so I feel qualified to give you some recommendations :)

Clean them really well (you don't want them getting moldy) and put them in moist paper towel inside a ziploc bag. Throw the bag in the fridge.

Keep an eye on them both for mold and growth. Typically about 8 weeks later they will shoot a little root out when they start growing. When they do, put them in some soil under a grow light.

You'll have small trees by spring!

Good luck,

-John

I'm no expert, but I've done it in the past with great success so I feel qualified to give you some recommendations :)

Clean them really well (you don't want them getting moldy) and put them in moist paper towel inside a ziploc bag. Throw the bag in the fridge.

Keep an eye on them both for mold and growth. Typically about 8 weeks later they will shoot a little root out when they start growing. When they do, put them in some soil under a grow light.

You'll have small trees by spring!

Good luck,

-John