Acorns have sprouted and are putting on leaves! What now??

GoodFood

Buck Fawn
Ok, so I'm brand new here. Pretty excited to have found y'all. And yes I'm from Alabama. With that said, if this thread should go another place, please forgive and direct me.

So, I collected some acorns from some white oaks. I believe they are chestnut oak acorns and an actual white oak acorns. Some of the acorns had already sprouted and pushed out a little radicle. So I thought it smart to go ahead and place in some peat moss and put into a tree seedling tube that is about 10 inches deep. Then I kept them inside. And put them under a light. And now they are growing and have beautiful leaves.

So since I'm a complete newb at this, I began "researching" what to do now. And it appears I have made some incorrect moves here. If I could go back in time, I would have collected the acorns, placed them in a ziplock, packed some moist peatmoss around them, and let them sit until late february. Then I would place in seed tubes and left outside and protected from squirrels. I'd bring them inside during freezing nights. Then I would wait until April or May, after threat of frost and freezing temps has passed, I'd plant outside, in a tree tube. Then I'd wait 15 years and put a swing in it for my grandkids. Is this generally correct?

If so, that means I have rushed this process a bit. I'm in N Alabama, zone 7. What should I do with my little oak seedlings? They are a few weeks old and look great. Do I keep them under lights until April? Can I take them outside and expose them to cold weather so they will go dormant? And bring them inside during freezing nights?

I'm attached to them and don't want them to die. I feel silly saying that, but it's the truth.

Please help!

Attachments

• IMG_9541.jpg
    IMG_9541.jpg
    53.8 KB · Views: 23