Conservation easements

Howboutthemdawgs

5 year old buck +
In my quest to find some land closer to home I came across one that intrigues me. Looks really promising and priced very fair, well I know why, it’s in a conservation easement. The agent, who is also the forester for the property, made it sound like a non factor in terms of managing the property for wildlife and timber. It has 5 acres carved out for a house. Anyone have good or bad experiences or thoughts with these?
Personally I don’t plan on developing the property so that part doesn’t affect me. It’s not in an area where I see that even being a reality in my lifetime.

You would really need to get a full copy of the agreement and go through it carefully. Some might not be far from your goals others could be the opposite. It just depends on who it is with (a land trust or government body) and what their rights and goals are.

I have no first hand experience. Mainly you just need to know all the details of what’s allowed and what isn’t. That’s the long and short of it.

If you’ll only use it for hunting and the price reflects the reduction in value by the easement, it isn’t a terrible way to maximize acres per dollar. In an area where future development may actually occur, it really caps the top end that the land could one day be worth. But you didn’t ask about the investment side of it, so I digress.

What I hate to see is when people enroll in a CE so that they can continue to afford land whose primary value is development potential.

You're also signing on to maintain their property and their interests when you do that. That might mean controlling brush and weeds, as well as no plowing, spraying, tree planting, or potentially no tree cutting. Personally I detest the whole concept. But to be honest, read the agreement and see how many rights they stripped from the property before you do anything, and gauge the cost of the maintenance required.