Time release nitrogen fertilizer

Yearling... With promise
Hi all, this is my first post in the food plot fourm. I've been food plotting for years in the Northeast Pennsylvania area. Having read almost every thread involving turnips, I have yet to see anyone using time release 46-0-0 fertilizer. I apply 100lbs of 19-19-19 per acre at time of seeding, wait until plants are about 6 inches and apply 100 lbs per acre of time release nitrogen. The benefits of this method is you don't have to wait for a rain event to apply. I'm no expert just wondering

Hi all, this is my first post in the food plot fourm. I've been food plotting for years in the Northeast Pennsylvania area. Having read almost every thread involving turnips, I have yet to see anyone using time release 46-0-0 fertilizer. I apply 100lbs of 19-19-19 per acre at time of seeding, wait until plants are about 6 inches and apply 100 lbs per acre of time release nitrogen. The benefits of this method is you don't have to wait for a rain event to apply. I'm no expert just wondering

Welcome to the forum.
I've thought about using coated N fertilizer for a few years now, but I never seem to follow up with it.
One thing is for sure, mother nature seldom gives the needed amount of rain for top-dressing urea when I need it or when I have the time to apply it.
And when they are forecasting only a trace of rain (and I don't spread urea), the weatherman is wrong and we get the half inch needed for top dressing urea.

How much does 100 lbs of coated N cost?
And, isn't 46-0-0 actually 46 pounds of N? Are you actually spreading two 1 hundred pound bags of 46-0-0 per acre in order to achieve 100 pounds of N per acre?