Fertilizer Recommendations based on Soil Test

southboundfishing

Yearling... With promise
Im new to food plots and am trying to get a better understanding of fertilizer requirements based on my soil tests......This would be for our summer cover crop... All of our fields ph is between 6.6 and 7.3, average CEC is 8. My question is the fertilizer recommendations for most of the fields are 20(N) 40(P) and 110(k). What blend of fertilizer would your recommend? Since im planting legumes and sunn hemp would you just apply potash only at around 110lbs per acre? I know a lot of people that put 250-300 lbs per acre of 19-19-19 but that seems like a waste of money. What am I missing?Thanks in advance as i'm new to this and am trying to learn as much as I can before springtime.....

You might find this site helpful. It can help you calculate needs and amounts based on what is available in your area.

It's a dilemma....and a judgement call. You don't say what you're planting nor how many acres. If you choose to amend the soil with fertilizer you'll be constrained by what's available and by the amount you'll need. If the acreage is small you'll likely be buying bags and the analysis available in bags is limited. If you are talking tons of fertilizer then a bulk blend might be possible. Bulk blends can be custom mixed so you are applying the number of pounds of N-P-K you wish to apply - assuming you have the equipment to do bulk applications or are willing to pay to have it done. Finally, the recommendation your were given? It'll get you in the ballpark, but, remember, it's only a recommendation. What's recommended and what we often do are sometimes worlds apart.

Last edited:
Ill be planting 30 acres of cowpeas and sunn hemp and we do have the ability to get custom blends and buy by the ton