Realizing A Dream

Natty Bumppo

5 year old buck +
I've posted before about finally getting a chunk of land gifted from my mother-in-law…a 21 acre chunk of land (together with my 7) my wife and kids and I can finally call our own. I've been hunting her 150 acres since 2001 when we bought our house, and in the past I've done some apple releasing and a little bit of trail work, but never any food plotting.

Well, today I got started on a lifelong goal of mine to create and manage a little whitetail haven. I have no grand illusions of growing monster bucks on my little 28 acres. My goal is to nurture a habitat that will create quality hunting experiences for my family and I.

My home and land are in northern Berkshire mountains of Massachusetts which Karl Miller cites in Quality Whitetails: The Why and How of Quality Deer management as sub-optimal whitetail range. I'm at 2,000 ft. elevation which causes some brutal winters…deep snow persisting from November through early April. There is no hard mast or ag for miles. The deer around here are truly browsers…wandering, feeding, and bedding with no real pattern. The one thing I do not lack is cover. I actually have too much of it.

This first group of pics is an overview of my land, and a sketch of some of my ideas for improvements.

QDMA2_zpsce246811.jpg

Here's what I have to work with…..

DeerLand_zps0d9e81ce.jpg

Here are some of my ideas:

Goals2015_zps586992ef.jpg

Today I got out for the first time on my land to release some apples and to open up and area for one of the food plots I have planned. Had a great time. It felt great to be working towards a dream. I dropped about 25 or 30 large red maples, a few black cherry, and a few poplar…released about 12 apples. I've got a lot of work ahead of me bucking up the trees and hauling the firewood off the land. Going to burn the brush piles…then soil tests, lime, and at least rye or buckwheat planted, hopefully, by early August.