Ram pump for watering needs

BenAllgood

5 year old buck +
Has anyone built a ram pump to water trees or plots? It looks pretty simple to build and requires no electricity an little to no maintenance. This diagram shows a waterfall, but it could be a pipe from a pond dam, spring, creek, etc.

1557321607133.png

What little I have read says they work but a lot of people didn't like the noise.

I love the concept, but I have no experience. If you give it a shot, please keep us posted. Good luck.

I love the concept, but I have no experience. If you give it a shot, please keep us posted. Good luck.
I'm wanting to start an orchard this fall, but I live in another state, so trying to find the best way to water the trees automatically is what I'm working on. I think the ram pump will give me the water I need. I need to figure out a way to supply that to the trees now.

Personally, I would not let your ram project de-rail your plans to plant trees this fall. Very few of us have the option of watering our trees once planted... me included. Properly planted, your trees should thrive with the rainfall the regions gets naturally. Just my 2 cents.

Personally, I would not let your ram project de-rail your plans to plant trees this fall. Very few of us have the option of watering our trees once planted... me included. Properly planted, your trees should thrive with the rainfall the regions gets naturally. Just my 2 cents.
Thanks. Reading comments about keeping trees watered the first year, making sure I could water if needed, and such, had me worried. It would still be nice to have water, but I'll get a few trees planted even if I don't get the ram pump working. I just didn't want to waste money on killing trees.

Seems like they’d drain a pond and work best with a spring or creek. They run constantly, right?

Last edited:
Seems like they’d drain a pond and work best with a spring or creek. They run constantly, right?