All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question about clover planted in corn

Bowsnbucks

5 year old buck +
Not being a farmer, I see folks plant beans & GFR in corn and I wondered - can clover ( of some type ) be planted in corn? Would it provide nitrogen to the corn while it's growing in it? This would be for a deer plot - not for ag. purposes. We have a big population of bears in the area, so some of the corn will get hammered while " in the milk ". Just trying to get some extra forage benefit for deer while adding to the soil if possible. All ideas welcome!!

From my experience, white clover usually does great in that environment. I know a farmer who does it on all his steeper strip cropped ground and on his other fields the year before he turns a row crop strip field to hay. He usually gets average yield from his corn during those years and has a jump start on hay ground for the next year. He drills grass(some mix of fescue, timothy, and ryegrass) and more clover into it the following spring. The limiting factor is water, the clover will use water that would normally be available to the corn. In the drought of 2012 he did lose about 20% yield in the steeper strip rows with clover, but those strips were on slopes with better than average drainage, which may have also limited water retention on that soil, and the heat may have made both the clover and corn use more water, especially with the dry conditions? Otherwise, it usually works great for him.