Prune critique please

j-bird

I was out today and pruned my apples, but I am not very experienced in doing so. Can those of you more experienced give my your 2 cents worth please? These where box store specials (I know, I know) in 5 gallon containers - 3 years in the ground. I am basically pruning right now to promote vertical growth to get beyond the reach of the deer. I had a few apples form last year, but nothing to really speak of. My biggest concern is the long "whip" limbs. Reminds me of a good whip'n switch!

Tree #1 - this tree had tent worms last year and that part of the central leader died.
B&A S1.jpg

Tree #2 - poor form I know, but I am not sure what I can really do about it.
B&A S2.jpg

Tree #3
B&A SW 1.jpg

Tree #4
B&A SW2.jpg

The main thing you need is to get a primary leaders started. In every picture you have limbs all competing for the dominant leader, thus the long whippy branches. Your side branches should not be allowed to be taller than the central leader. I have an old ipad so I cant draw colored lines where you need to cut. Somebody else will likely do that for you.

Kill off the vegetation around the bases of your trees it is all competing for moisture and nutrients.

DSCN1813.JPG J-Bird I'm not good w/ computers so I'm not going to draw lines, but I'll give you some links to look at and write a few random thoughts....

Pic 1 Stake that tree and tie that top branch so that it is going up and will be the new leader. I had to do this several years ago. After a few years you hardly notice it, except for a little jog in the leader. The tree on the right in this pic.

Pic 2 Since grafting season is right around the corner, I'd cut it off below those branches and start it over. Normally you should try to have a nurse branch to get them started, but I've had great luck w/o one. They grow like crazy, and I think it would be better in the long run. This grew 5-6' the first year. This was after 2 growing seasons.

DSCN1828.JPG