Help I’m new to apples!

EastTexas22

Yearling... With promise
You guys are very knowledgeable, and I don’t want to make a mistake and choose the wrong variety of apple tree in my area. I’m in zone 8b in north east Texas. We avg around 700 chill hours per year and I’m looking to find good wildlife apples for my property. I have wild crabapple,and southern crabapple that I bought from Nativ nursery(last year and this year). and one red delicious that is around 3 years old.. would you guys recommend grafting Kerr, Dolgo, chestnut crabs to my southern and wild crabapple? Also what apple varieties do you guys think will work well in my area? Looking for low chill hours and good disease resistance.. I already have pears, plums, and persimmons… I’m just really wanting to grow apples… thanks guys I really do appreciate your responses..

I have had" some" success with cauley,liberty,enterprise ,and gold rush

Apples are a "tough go" for me in east texas

Allen at the wildlife group is a good resource

A reputable ,local nursery is probably your best resource as to what grows best in your location

bill

I went ahead and purchased a liberty, Enterprise, Freedom and Arkansas black apple from blue hill.. all 2 year olds.. I guess we will see how it goes. Thanks for the Help!

Dolgo is good. One of the best drought tolerant rootstocks is M111. What kind of soil do you have.

I have heavy clay. Digging deep to loosen up and hardpan can be a good help. One site says to take a rod and drive some holes for roots to go deeper quicker.

The first few years are very important. Pick a spot where it can get extra water, a low spot. Mulch it very well if you cant give it water often. In NY I use about a bag of pine bark mulch. If I were in texas, I'd make the circle bigger and maybe use 3 bags. IF you visit your spot often, get something to transport water easily. There was a thread on a electronic water valve. Like can open an hour a day to slow drip water to a few trees.