IH planter shopping

Turkish

5 year old buck +
I’m wanting to find a 2 row planter to use for no-tilling sunflower and soybeans. I have found a well used 2 row IH 800 planter that’s priced right.

I’ve never used a planter but have a crude idea of the parts and how they work from researching online. If I go look at this one, what parts should I scrutinize to confirm it’s ready to use and not a money pit? Owner indicates it does need one chain replaced, which he will do before selling.

I use a no till drill so I have no experience with a no till planter. But the principal is the same. It must have down pressure springs that you can adjust to truly be no till. Coulter disk up front to slice the ground followed by two opening disks, seed tube and a packing wheel to close the trench.

First thing I’d want to see is it work. A 2 row planter must be light so I’d want to see it open a trench in sod. Again I never used a planter but helped my neighbor set his up on occasion. Make sure the seed metering cups are there and work. If anything like a JD planter there are different cups for different seed.