Ground prep for sorghum screen

Woodstick

Yearling... With promise
I'm going to plant strips of sorghum for a screen around an established clover plot. I've read that no till is best for weed control and moisture preservation in sorghum. I don't have a drill. I do have a pto tiller, disc, harrows, brushhog, roller, and a tank sprayer. Would a light tillage, broadcast, drag, then cultipack work? Should I broadcast and disc? What about sow into sprayed clover, then brushog? I've never grown sorghum before.

I'm no expert but a big fan of sorghum screens. Skipped them this past season due to time limitations and regretted it!
It's grows great in my mediocre rocky soil. I disk lightly and seed heavy. The stuff grows so aggressively I never had much trouble with weeds..
Plan to do it again this yr with some corn mixed in.

I like your idea of seeding into clover plot then mowing. Bet it works well for you! May have to try it myself!

Not sure what you have to burn down, two years ago I sprayed and rolled after broadcasting the seed into waist high grass and it worked fine so last year I wanted to try it again but didn't have the enough thatch to cover the seed so I lightly disced it and had good results. If you go with the throw/roll just be patient with it, it might not look like much for awhile but it will turn out OK in the end.

PART_1483723582721_1125161104.jpg PART_1483723573677_1210161519 (1).jpg PART_1483723576629_1210161518a (1).jpg Like Jordan, I am a fan of forage sorghum for a screen. However I mixed mine this year with sun hemp and it made a huge difference in how long it stands erect. What I planted this year is still standing upright whereby in the past years whereby the other years I planted forage sorghum only it bent over after freezing rain and/or snow. I have had both this year and they were not fazed. The sun hemp keeps it standing.

My soil prep was as Jordan did.