Food Plots in Hill Country

SnowWaterWhitetails

Yearling... With promise
I just recently purchased some property in SE Ohio (Gallia Co.). With that being said, I have some ridge top food plots already incorporated; however, I am curious on if anyone has any experience with food plots in the bottoms / creek bottoms. The hills are not super steep and I am still learning how the deer are bedding. I own other land in the flat lands so this is all new to me.

Seems like the ground is fairly rocky, and I am waiting on my soil test results. Also, if anyone has any pointers on creating bedding on hillsides / mountain country it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

How bad is the hill? Pics would be good. I've seen deer many times bedding in flatter spots of the hill. OFten old logging trails cut in by bulldozers are used by deer. Maybe consider renting a bulldozer.

If you're maintaining the hill with some sort of equipment, consider getting a tow behind mower for your tractor. Still uses the PTO, but that articulation and relieving the weight imbalance really helps out on mowing hillsides.

IF you have any pics, try to scribble in the paths you know the deer use so far.

Little patches of spruce can be helpful. They'll find a way to stay dry.

Prevailing winds are west to east by me. I've noticed stalk hunting in the catskills the deer kind of like to be close to the top, but not all the way. LAte maybe 30-50ft shy of the top on the east side at times. The wind blows from the west, but creates suction that pulls the east side air up the hill a bit. This way the deer can be out of the brunt of the wind, but are able to smell whats going on on both sides of the hill. Alot of the terrrains I have went on has ridges going south / north. So it mostly has east / west hillsides.