Drought and Dead Seedlings

Jerry

5 year old buck +
I have been planting DNR seedlings for 4 years now. I've tubed several hundred of them. This past spring I put 100 red, bur, and swamp white oaks in tubes. I did my second round of the year spraying for weeds around all of them yesterday. I'd say the 100 I planted this past spring have 75% kill due to the severe drought we are having. That was a lot of work for that kind of die off. And I am still losing them because we still aren't getting rains and a bad heat wave is headed our way.

Does anyone have experience with drought killed seedlings resprouting from their roots the following year?

I also planted a couple thousand nuts and had less than 5% germination from what I can tell.

It's been a rough year for new plantings.

If they were previously established you might see some root sprouts, but with the stuff you just planted in spring I'd be surprised if any of them came back.

I don't know what you do at planting, but if you can mulch them heavily, along with your weed killing, that gives them much better odds.

I have lost two plantings of 15,000 bedded loblolly pine seedlings to drought - twice. Have lost 15,000 four year old loblolly pine to extended flooding. Have lost 12,000 loblolly pine due to inability to grow in calcarous soil - my fault for even trying. Mother nature is unforgiving.

Yeah, no mulch. It is hard enough and expensive enough to tube and spray a few hundred. Mulch would do me in. I've had pretty good luck up until now. What little showers we've had this year just skirted me and it was a very dry fall and winter before that.

I guess I will mark the dead ones and leave them where they are. Then just replant next spring. I easily have 75 dead in tubes right now.