Persimmons are tough trees

b116757

5 year old buck +
I have a lot of persimmons naturally on my place but I also planted and tubed about 50 seedlings in a much larger planting last year. We had a summer drought last year and a spring drought this year and those seedlings persimmons are growing quite well in the tubes they are simply tough trees that require no care. I know others on this site have said as much but I think it with reiterating the fact that they are very good wildlife trees to have if you can grow them in you zone.

I have hundreds of native persimmon. Problem is, 90% are male. I wish I was a grafting expert. Our persimmons. Coons and possums get most of the persimmons. Those few that hit the ground become feral hog food. But, they are tough. We had a four month period last summer with 2.5 in rain and I never found a dead persimmon. They can take months of flood water. They are one of three trees which are first to colonize my calcareous soil prairie.

I have a couple Fuyu persimmons and they seem susceptible to everything

They are tough little mothers! I bought a bundle of 10 from MDC and planted the six best trees in spring of 22. I planted those in the orchard to be grafted to asians or hybrids later. Year number two of drought, this year being far worse than last, rain shut off in march. Compared to the m111 and OHXF 333 planted at the same time they have suffered the least. My property is tiny at only 14 acres, it is possible there is over 200 persimmon trees on it. Like SwampCat at least 90 percent are male. 20230709_145607_HDR.jpg20230709_145549.jpg