Dr Deer / wildtree shipping ?

White Oak

5 year old buck +
I Noticed this on DR Deer's Facebook page. The first picture with the roots is supposedly how another Nursery ships trees and "how you don't want to get your trees". The leafed out trees in the box is supposedly the correct way that Dr Deer's partner Wildtree ships. I'm far from an expert....BUT they both look equally bad !. I wouldn't want leafed out trees shipped to me !. Thankfully all the trees I've received from Whitetail Crabs, Blue Hill and The Wildlife group were dormant....and that's how you want to get trees !.

Attachments

• 434217739_975709203925566_3448363540005996897_n.jpg
    434217739_975709203925566_3448363540005996897_n.jpg
    589.3 KB · Views: 30
  • 434201705_975710077258812_1857011789336561770_n.jpg
    434201705_975710077258812_1857011789336561770_n.jpg
    296.9 KB · Views: 32
  • 2024-04-01.png
    2024-04-01.png
    939 KB · Views: 31
  • 2024-04-01 (1).png
    2024-04-01 (1).png
    42.2 KB · Views: 29
If they have leafed out, they have broken dormancy. They will be quickly looking for moisture & nutrients. Not much time before you need to get them into the ground.

All my trees from WC, BH, stark's have been dormant.

To pile on the Wildlife Group a little more, that's why I didn't order their pear trees a few years ago after inquiring. Another member here showed pics of their trees arriving leafed out. I asked if that would be expected, since I'm from the same state as the other member. They replied saying they'd be leafed out, but that it wouldn't matter. I passed.

If they have leafed out, they have broken dormancy. They will be quickly looking for moisture & nutrients. Not much time before you need to get them into the ground.

All my trees from WC, BH, stark's have been dormant.