Clover for wet soil

BobinCt

5 year old buck +
I’ve had a plot that didn’t drain well before and used Imperial clover by Whitetail Institute. It held up well. According to Google, it appears as tho Aslike is one of the top clovers for poorly drained soils. I would like to do a mix if 3/4 perennial clovers in this 3/4 acre plot next year. I’m located in Connecticut . Anyone else have experience with poorly drained soils and clover ? Which ones held up good ? Thx, Bob

When I get really heavy rainfall in a short period, yes.

I’ve got some experience with this. Dutch white clover will do just fine. Mine sat under inches of water for weeks and never quit.

1cca36efa19597bf5b8fd5fd5a387cd3.jpg

48e3561666c692b0454fb5ae34688851.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I wish I could tell you what clovers are in there. It's a tricky proposition. That's about a tenth of an acre in a 5 acre field. It's possibly the worst drained piece in the farm. Sometimes it drains. Sometimes it just stays flooded. I keep throwing down any kinds of clover to keep the plot going. Underwater very long and it all dies. I'd bet there are a dozen types/varieties seeded. I can't name what has survived. I've used Durana, ladino-variety-not-stated, Imperial, and my mind says there was a lot of white Dutch in the plot when the picture was taken. As I write this a moral-to-the-story comes to mind.
If I were to do it again I would buy a little of a lot of different clovers, mix them and seed that wet plot. Mother nature will determine what survives.