Newbie help

Christopher3

Yearling... With promise
I am fairly new to yearly deer hunting and prior to 5 years ago I had hunted deer two, maybe three times in my early teens (in the late 70’s) and about a half dozen times from 2007 to 2016 in my early to mid-40’s. With that being said, I offer my apologies ahead of time for the length of this post but being new, I want to try and give as much possible pertinent information as possible to help with my questions although it may well be overkill. (I have watched so many videos and read so many articles, many having conflicting information that I now feel like I have mental constipation.)

5 Years ago, I was granted permission to hunt a friend’s 40-acre plot that was sitting idle just north of Lake Mille Lacs (MN) in the state forest. It is a land locked parcel consisting of a mix of high and low, and about 95% hardwoods with a smattering of scattered conifer. To the west of me is a 40-acre parcel along the road. They have a large building close to the road and each year they plant a 1-acre radish plot directly behind the building and my access trail/easement runs 10 acres long down along the southern edge of their property to mine. The same people own the 40-acre plot south of me and they use their parcels only for hunting. To my east is over 600 acres of state forest and north of me is another 80 acres of state forest. Off my Northwest corner where 4 parcels meet, there is an 80-acre parcel along the road that is about 40 acres of ag (usually alfalfa), 5 acres of yard and 35 acres of woods.