What one apple type?

gunfun13

5 year old buck +
What one apple type would you plant specifically by your tree stand for primarily the rut?

I'm fairly new to the fruit tree game, planted 17 trees last year, 10 trees on order this year plus 20 rootstocks and scions from GRIN. Everything is planted bordering destination food, but I have room for one tree in a staging area by a stand. Liberty, Arkansas Black, Enterprise, and Galarina top my list right now. Have 5 crabs planted 50 yards from this spot so don't think pollination would be an issue.

None. Apple trees need light. For the rut I want to be in cover 70-100 yards down wind of feeding areas.

The varieties you have listed are all good choices. All are great apple varieties, but they do have different ripening dates, so you want them dropping apples during your hunting season. So, if you bow hunt, you might want something ripening from early October on, like the Galarina or Liberty. The Arkansas Black ripens Mid October so it’s a little later, but drops right through November. Enterprise ripens last of the ones you mention, so if you’re hunting gun season this one will probably be dropping all the way through. Of course, ripening dates are an imprecise science, and the reality is that trees drop apples well before, and well after, ripening periods. If I was a bow hunter, I might pick one ripening earlier than the Enterprise. If gun hunting in November, all are good choices.