The things you see from the stand

Ed Brodt

5 year old buck +
I have been stomping around the woods for over 60 years now and today I saw something I still can’t hardly believe. I am in a tower blind deer hunting Kentucky’s late black powder season. I can see three food plots, a cedar thicket and a mineral lick from my stand. There are two does feeding in a small food plot of clover and rye. The mature doe gets spooked by something in the woods and they both run right under my blind in a hurry.

I am hoping a buck is trailing them so I am patiently waiting. Suddenly I see a Bobcat come out of the tree line right where the does had been. The Bobcat starts rolling on the ground in what I assume is deer scat. It then crossed the food plot and goes into the brush. While I have captured this cat on my trail camera a few times this is the first Bobcat I have ever seen in the wild. I am thinking this is pretty neat.

Then the first Bobcat sprints out of the brush and is followed by a second Bobcat. As rare as seeing one is I have never heard of seeing two at the same time. This is where it gets good. They are kind of playing around the edge of the brush line when I see two coyotes run into the food plot. The coyotes stop mid-run and they are in a staring contest with the two Bobcats which are about 20 feet away.