Temporary planting for crab apples

Gross144

A good 3 year old buck
I was looking for some input or suggestions as I am new to planting trees. I ordered 4 crab apples from Northern Whitetail Crabs and received an email that they will be here this week. I was planning on going upstate New York this weekend to plant but that is just not going to happen with the Coronavirus and quarantine and other issues that popped up.

Instead I was looking for an alternative, saw somewhere that I could plant them here on Long Island and then transplant them in the fall after October upstate to their final spot. So the question is, since they are being delivered as bare root trees, should I just plant them in a flower bed somewhere and then dig them up later or plant them in a large pot or five gallon bucket so then in transplanting them later this fall, I don't have to dig them up, as they will be in buckets, and cut any roots in doing so. Also if in a bucket will regular soil suffice.

All input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

If it is only a few trees, I would consider using 3 or 5 gal Rootbuilder II containers with Promix depending on size. This will allow them to develop good root systems and won't disturb the roots when you transport and transplant when they go dormant. This will put much less stress on these trees than planting them in the garden and digging them up, transporting them and replanting them.