Spring 2016 Habitat Update

Natty Bumppo

5 year old buck +
Hey guys....haven't posted an update in a while. I got some major work done in April. I'm a high school teacher and my wife took my kids to FL during April vacation with her family...I stayed behind and basically worked myself to exhaustion for 10 straight days. I am working on my new land that was gifted to my wife and I by my MIL last year. I am putting in 2 food plots...basically I went from 50 to 60 year old red maple, spruce, black cherry, and birch stands to 2 plots that I strategically designed with the existing wild apples in mind.

I burned massive brush piles for 6 of the 10 days and spent the other 4 logging, bucking up and stacking firewood, and planting about 200 trees that I got from the MDC and the NH state nursery.

This first plot is the newest one and is about 2/3rd's of an acre. I dropped most of the trees during the winter of 2015. Spent last summer removing the logs and clearing the plot a bit, but it was still too small. Dropped more trees this past winter and it is now just about 90% clear. Got about 4 poplars and a spruce tree to fell. Going to grind the stumps down and then get some lime down this month and then plant some buckwheat this first year. The plot is surrounded by mature wild apples (marked in yellow). Deer used this area quite a bit before my work. Hoping it becomes a social hot spot.

land_zps59vj0cjm.jpg

IMG_1495_zpskdqc6w4h.jpg

IMG_2302_zpsidiunnuc.jpg

IMG_2652_zpsf8enb9ep.jpg

IMG_2662_zpskccd5nmq.jpg

IMG_2654_zps8zmxouiw.jpg

Last edited:
The 2nd plot I started about 2 years ago...it's more of an hourglass shaped plot. I got some lime down last summer and had a marginal rye plot last fall, but deer did use the plot. I dropped some more south-side trees this winter and have to buck them up and get them out. Hoping to get more lime down and buckwheat planted this month.

This is last summer.....

IMG_2319_zpsbrwdejk6.jpg

This pic was taken a few weeks ago....