All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PROTECTION: Rock Inside Hardware Cloth or Screen?

JAW

Yearling... With promise
I’m new to planting fruit trees. I planted my first apple and crabapple trees — all from NWC — in late April in Zone 4a (Minnesota). I used 5’ welded wire to keep the deer away and used hardware cloth to keep voles/rabbits away. The hardware cloth is 6-7” in diameter. I’ve read a lot lately about using pea gravel or crushed limestone around apple trees in order to keep small critters away, especially in winter. I know such rock is put around (OUTSIDE) hardware cloth or screening, but I’m wondering if anyone recommends putting rock INSIDE the hardware cloth or screening, as long as the rock is not touching the actual tree trunk. Thoughts?

It sounds like you're doing a great job of protecting your trees now.

I don't use pea-stone myself, but my guess is that you don't need to put it inside the hardware cloth since the purpose of using it is to protect the trunk against rodents. If the rodent happens to get inside your hardware cloth, the stone is not going to protect your tree.

I thought the purpose of using pea-stone inside the welded wire was to hold down weed-matting. I could be mistaken about this... so I hope someone can add to my response and let both of know if using pea-stone is helpful by itself, or if it's sole purpose is to hold weed-matting in place.

I would staple tight to the trunk on top and tight to the rootstock on the bottom. Leave some extra window screen stapled together for growth.

Get that window screen low enough to be covered by dirt and not exposed if the tree sways in the wind.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk