Potted trees and freezing

Mahindra3016

5 year old buck +
I have sold around 20 potted trees and will be getting them to people next weekend. This week looks like, freezing temps at night and daytime highs in the 40s some nights into the mid to lower 20 's. This morning just the top inch was frozen, should I bring them into my unheated basement for this week untill I get them to people? I really dont want to take the time to bury the pots just for a week.

Sent from my SM-G892U using Tapatalk

I would at least put them in a garage (deeper in and not by the door); I am far from an expert but I think your trees' enemy while potted is freeze/thawing cycles ... I heel in pots every year with little issues, those pots freeze but are in the ground and are insulated from repeated freezings and thawings. I would guess that just getting them into a garage if you have one would keep them from freezing up more and would be a more stable temp till you can get them gone. I wouldnt heel them in either - not for that short of a time. But I wouldnt leave them outside - just potted either. I half thought about telling you to just pack a tarp around them (pots) but if your ground is already cold and or frozen that wouldnt work good either.

Thanks for the advice, Most of the trees are dormant, would storing in my 50 degree basement for a week be a problem? I have told the buyers to plant or bury the pots after receiving.