Planting advice for 1 yr. old Persimmon seedlings

EarthySpirit

5 year old buck +
I'm getting in 50 seedlings in late march, and I'm planting fruit trees for the first time ever. I'm a total newbie. They advice I've been given so far is this:
1. plant the depth the tree was already planted in previously
2. water the hole before putting it in.
3. put in mulch around it to protect against weeds/grass and to hold in moisture
4. plant 20 feet apart from each other
5. protect with a wire fence around each plant.
6. Biologist told me I did not need the protective sleeve if I have the wire fence.
7;. water weekly for first year.

Missing anything?

thanks

Patrick

Aluminum window screen around the truck. This protects them from mice and rabbits that like to girdle them. Also, if you plant in March be prepared to water them all summer (for the first yr anyway).

Persimmon has a tap root. On trees that small, it won't be very long, but my opinion is that it's important to get the hole deep and try to get the tap root started down in the right direction. I think it gives them a better chance of surviving and taking off well.

Make sure they get as MUCH sun as possible. They love full sun. More sun equals more growth and earlier fruit production.
I planted 50 five years ago. 25 in full sun and 25 with a lot of sun but some sporadic shade. The ones in full sun set fruit this year after only 5 years, the others look to be at least 2 years behind them.

I'm getting in 50 seedlings in late march, and I'm planting fruit trees for the first time ever. I'm a total newbie. They advice I've been given so far is this:
1. plant the depth the tree was already planted in previously
2. water the hole before putting it in.
3. put in mulch around it to protect against weeds/grass and to hold in moisture
4. plant 20 feet apart from each other
5. protect with a wire fence around each plant.
6. Biologist told me I did not need the protective sleeve if I have the wire fence.