Off Topic - Career Advice

westonwhitetail

5 year old buck +
Just curious what others would do. I am a civil engineer and our field is swamped right now. Every company is looking for people. I am getting recruited to another firm by an old co-worker. His company would offer slightly better salary but due to better healthcare plans, it would increase my family's monthly take home by about $1000. This is about 20% increase in take home pay. This is also assuming I contribute similar total amounts to retirement (between myself and the companies benefits). It's a big increase that could mean some upgrades for my family and quicker savings for the next land purchase or other investments.

I can't help but be interested with the pay increase but there are great people and resources at my existing company, there is also a lot of potential movement up the ladder. It's hard to say what the environment may be at the other place, but from what I hear it isn't bad.

The last factor I am concerned about is the economy. I'd hate to be the new guy when/if things turn to shit. Both places do a lot of municipal work though, so it would likely be less affected than private work.

I'm just throwing this out there as there are a lot of successful people here with more career experience than myself. Anyone have any thoughts or suggestion's?

Oooo, thats a tricky one. First thing that rattles around in my head is “the grass isn‘t always greener” thing. The main thing with a decision like this, and I’m sure this has already crossed your mind is, there is really only one person (or family…household…) that can know if this is a good change to make or not.
There are probably numerous other factors that play into this that you can see or know about that aren’t reflected in your post. And thats ok, we shouldn’t know all your business and the inner workings of your household.