New Crossbow

yoderjac

5 year old buck +
I've been using an old Parker Hurricane for quite a few years now. Parker went out of business this year so parts and maintenance will eventually become an issue. I have a couple friends that I'd like to introduce to hunting this year. They don't have equipment. I've been lending out firearms and such but I don't have an extra crossbow. So, a week or so ago I started doing some research. My primary concern is noise, not speed which is driving the industry. Here is an old thread where I posted some string jumping information: http://www.habitat-talk.com/index.php?threads/crossbow-noise.9885/ I don't shoot past 30 yards with a crossbow at deer for ethical reasons, so speed is not a factor.

I found some reviews in one of the trade magazines that took standard measurements including sound. Not every crossbow was reviewed, but it was a good mix. It look to me like Mission Sniper-lite was significantly quieter than others. I started to look into that. There is a Mathews dealer not to far out of the way on my way home from the farm and I decided to stop by and check one out. Well, the dealer said they had been discontinued this year and replaced by the sub 1-lite. He said it was even quieter, but I kind of doubt that since it is about 20 fps faster at around 330 fps and only 1 lb heavier at 7 lbs, but who knows if that is true or just puffing. One thing I really liked about it is the decocking mechanism which was the only major complaint reviewers had about the Sniper-lite. Of course, it is more expensive.