Kinetic Energy reminder

WTNUT

5 year old buck +
This reminder is for the veterans and beginners alike since I have been bowhunting for 38 years and I forgot to think about how much kinetic energy my archery set up was delivering before going elk hunting this year.

I left for New Mexico with a new Mathews Triax set at 62 pounds, Carbon Express Maxima red arrows (250s) cut at about 26 inches and tipped with 100 grain Innerloc Slice broadheads. I had ran and lifted for 4 months on a regular basis of about 5-6 days a week. At 51, I was in great shape for an elk hunt and my bow was shooting better than any I had ever shot a fixed broadhead setup.

I had harvested a lot of archery bulls with darn near every bow you could imagine other than a Mathews and a recurve. When I was in my 20s I had been on some of the original “manufacture’s teams” for 3-D archery. For you young folks, back then you only had the IBO’s triple crown and the world championship. Manufacturers sponsored three person teams and you didn’t have the volume of pro shooters you have today.

Those days are gone, but like Toby Keith I am still as good once as I ever was when it comes to that first shot. My archery set up was really impressing me to say the least, and I have had some pretty darn good setups in the past.

I use to go on one or more big game hunts a year, but had not been for several years due to spending lots to time with my daughter and wife. Your children are only young once and I doubt anyone has every regretted spending too much time with them while on his or her death bed.

For this hunt, I was every bit as excited as I was at 14 when I use to strap my Baker Treestand to my back and head out for whitetails in October as soon as I stepped of the school bus. I was in shape. I had a great tag for New Mexico and my rig was beyond accurate.