iron and clay cowpeas ?

JFK52

5 year old buck +
I put in an acre of iron and clay cowpeas this year on my farm near Almond in Portage county WI. They grew great on a field that had paper mill sludge dumped on it for fertilizer this spring. I put in some black oil sunflower seeds to give the vines something to climb. When I looked at this plot last Saturday I could not find the iron and clay cowpeas. Can the deer have eaten them already? Did the hard frost kill them? I have plenty of 4 foot tall black oil sunflower plants with 6 inch diameter seed heads. It was a little over three weeks between the last time I saw them growing in September and my visit this weekend.
This is my first year with iron and clay cowpeas. No idea what to expect or when they get eaten. Looking for feedback from anyone who has grown them before.

Last edited:
Only a 1/4 acre plot, but when I planted IC peas on it the deer let them get to about six or eight inches tall then totally wiped them out between my week-apart visits to the plot.

Cow peas are like candy...sometimes. I've seen them totally wiped from the face of the earth.....and other times they hardly get touched.

I had a similar experience. I'm way south of WI, but here, between browse pressure and summer weeds, warm season annuals are difficult. Deer often nip them off before they are well established. Deer here react similarly to sunflowers here, so I find it interesting that you got sunflowers. I ended up going to RR forage beans instead of IC peas and began mixing RR corn in lightly instead of sunflowers for the vertical cover. That worked well for spring planting until I got hit with a Marestail infestation. I'll be dealing with that for a year or two and am now using buckwheat for spring planting.

Thanks,

Jack