Interesting...biting bees!

Not sure what you might be thinking, but seems bees would have exhibited this behavior a long time ago if it was feasible.

My guess is the anatomy of a bee doesn't allow them to bite. Their parts don't work that way.

If this pans out, it almost sounds like in the future to get mite resistant bees you may have to buy certified artifically inseminated queens. Purdue may be on the way to developing another money stream, patented bees.

I've read and heard quite a few stories about the honey bee decline.... And without fail they say "for unknown reasons".... (or at least for not a single known reason). Seems strange that this mite is the single source according to this article of the bee decline.

For the record, I'm no expert on bees. But I am interested in their success and pay attention to stories about them.

My gut feeling is its related to one of the herbicides used in agriculture. No data, just a suspicion.

-John

John, we had a good article in our Fruit Growers News mag last year on bee declines. They said there are several factors one of which is a cyclical thing that is a major factor, but yes herbicides are part of it, as were mites. I'll see if I can find the article.

"The bees will take the mite and they will bite the legs and will chew on the mite," Berta says. "And if they bite a leg off of the mite, the mite will bleed to death. So the bees are actually fighting back. That's the type of genetic line we're after right now."

That stuck in my head. Is this biting trait hereditary or a learned behavior? Deer come to my apples, genetics or learned behavior? I guess it's good to study it, but I wouldn't get my hopes up.

Are your concerns herbicides or insecticides in ag crops?

I'm not sure at all Art. No one does. I suspect there are several factors.