Grafting new Apple growth.

letemgrow

5 year old buck +
I had a few limbs to trim and the Kerr crab scion had an extra stick that needed plucked anyways. I figured what the heck, might as well try it with these cool temps.

20f6cf5469a372d1f691d10225b101d6.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I like to be optimistic in life, but I am afraid that there isnt likely enough optimism to get that to be successful. BUT you dont know if you dont try. Here is to proving it can be done!

I’m new to grafting...why do you think this will fail?

Dormant scion is less demanding,

While dormant the graft union has time to heal before the bud needs nutrition so to speak... its kind of like putting an injured person in a coma and letting them heal.

The new growth on your scion especially when leafed out is immediately dependent on a good flow of moisture and food more than what can pass through the small area of bond between the two plants and more than what it has in reserve stored in the short stick of scion. Its just too much to soon.

The root stock or tree we use is often a little bit ahead of the scion in coming out of dormancy so to speak so its' sap/nutrients are pushing into the scion right off the bat helping to heal and forming that union that can supply just enough to get things started while the union site grows and is able with time to supply more and more of the new growth.

You might get lucky but its not likely is what turkey creek is saying.

There is a window of opportunity in spring grafting - same with bud grafting in the fall. Right time, combination of growth states and right mix of methods with trees. Your green cutting is setting the pace for growth versus the tree. It actually needs to be the other way around... it will want more than the tree - through the handful of cells that are bonded can supply so to speak. Its a generalization and likely not a great explanation I hope it makes sense.