Fields almost ready to plant...

r49740

5 year old buck +
Things are drying out finally for me, and have the fields getting sprayed today to kill off and get ready. I am hoping the first week of June to till it all and get going. Will be about 12 acres or so with a couple other small areas. The small areas I want to put in sunflower for birds, which im sure the deer will eat before they grow. Going to try anyways. What all do you guys plant with the sunflowers to make it nice for birds(dove and turkey)? Out of the 12 acres, I will hope to get 3 or so in brassica for the late summer planting. My deer loved it last year. Then I will have about 6 with corn and clover spread underneath. That did real well last year too. And the remainder will be soybeans. The field hasn't been worked at all for about 20 years.

Any tips on the sunflowers as I have never done those before? Anything to mix in for more bird feed or cover?

sun flowers are easy to grow. I like iron clay cowpeas with sunflowers. Milo is always a good option. The deer didn't seem to touch mine but the birds liked it.

A mix of milo and browntop millet. The millet is good early since it matures in 60 days and deer or hogs dont tend to eat it

Things are drying out finally for me, and have the fields getting sprayed today to kill off and get ready. I am hoping the first week of June to till it all and get going. Will be about 12 acres or so with a couple other small areas. The small areas I want to put in sunflower for birds, which im sure the deer will eat before they grow. Going to try anyways. What all do you guys plant with the sunflowers to make it nice for birds(dove and turkey)? Out of the 12 acres, I will hope to get 3 or so in brassica for the late summer planting. My deer loved it last year. Then I will have about 6 with corn and clover spread underneath. That did real well last year too. And the remainder will be soybeans. The field hasn't been worked at all for about 20 years.