Fertilizer Method

Fall's Legend

5 year old buck +
This year I applied 80 fifty pound bags of fertilizer with a 3 point cyclone spreader. I have always applied it this way. But now I have a little bigger tractor and was thinking about purchasing my fertilizer matched exactly to my soil samples via the Co-Op and spreading it with one of their buggies.

I have about 8 acres of one continuous plot. The Co-Op is about 20 miles away and I have a V8 Tundra to pull it with. My ground is relatively flat, a couple of gentle slopes.

I have been applying fertilizer every year because my farm was an abused cash rent place. I only had to pay for 60 bags as I was donated the rest. The 60 was triple 13 at $14/bag.

Is the buggy approach a better way, or are there concerns I am not aware of as I have never done this before. Is the cost better or worse than bags? The bag method is OK, but I am getting older. 40 of the bags went down this past weekend and I feel it some. I should not have to apply so much fertilizer in the future as I am pretty good about rotation and commercial liming.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Okay, I will jump in here. You are right on the fence for a couple reasons. It is much easier to spread with a buggy no question. Assuming you are going to get 2 tons each time, you first concern is brakes. I am not a Tundra guy so will let others offer input there. Our co-op does not load more than 4 tons at a time (I think), and that is all I really want to stop with truck brakes alone. Next, 20 miles is a long haul. I probably only have to go 5 and I don't like that far. You are looking at 80 miles when it is all said and done for a load and to return the buggy. If your ground is relatively flat you should not have to worry about stopping the buggy loaded on a slope. My advise, get the buggy (2 tons) and see what you think. Physically, it will be much easier no doubt. Bulk fertilizer is also normally cheaper.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk