Fall Brassica Plan

Jerry-B-WI

5 year old buck +
Getting ready to do a fall brassica plot. I have very limited equipment, ATV, disc, ATV spreader and that's it. The plot isn't very big, about 9500 sqft

I already sprayed with gly two weeks ago. Should I spread lime, about 500#, then disc wait 2 weeks and spray again? Then broadcast the brassicas and pack it down by driving the atv over it. The mix I want to try says it has rape, kale, tillage radish, and three types of turnips. It doesn't list the ratios of each. It's from a local company Northwoods Whitetails.

I like the idea of spreading clover with the brassica mix and I like the no til idea but I have no way to mow.

Any advice would be appreciated.

I am no expert but that sounds like a good plan. I lack a tractor, a disk and a lime buggy, if I did I would do what you listed.

I have honeybees so I try not to use herbicide unless weeds become a problem. I am aiming for throw and mow.

I've done several brassica plots how you described. Limited equipment (w/o the disc). Kill the vegetation good, spread the seed/fertilizer, and hope for an inch of rain. I've "packed" my plots w/ atv tires and truck tires before. With a disc you should get good seed to soil contact.

Sounds like a good plan @Jerry-B-WI

That’s exactly what I did last summer. Plus some winter rye and chicory.

Attachments

• IMG_5044.jpeg
    IMG_5044.jpeg
    709.2 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_5045.jpeg
    IMG_5045.jpeg
    601.4 KB · Views: 25
How heavy did you guys seed and how much fertilizer if you used it?

100# WR, 12# various perennial clovers, 3# chicory, 3# various brassicas.

The brassicas came up so thick they partially shaded out my clover. But I frost seeded it in more clover this spring to hopefully thicken it.

That’s exactly what I did last summer. Plus some winter rye and chicory.