Cropscape - Book Mark It!

FarmerDan

5 year old buck +
This could go multiple locations. Some of you may know I'm very much into maps - like all things geospatial. It puts bread on my table. There's this thing in the industry called remote sensing. Aerial photography, satellite imagery, that kind of product. You're most familiar with Google Earth and what you see there from high in the sky.

Those pictures also contains lots of other information that can be used to determine types of land cover -- habitat! That's what it's all about. Habitat. There are several federal and state agencies providing land cover (habitat) images.

USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) provides very detailed estimates of cropland by crop and other habitat. They promote it as being 80-85% accurate. In my part of the world it's much more than that.

I've been fooling with it for a couple of years and have recently become more intimately involved.

You can find it here:
https://nassgeodata.gmu.edu/CropScape/ (see the live link below)

upload_2017-3-28_21-40-57.png

https://nassgeodata.gmu.edu/CropScape/

The table is a result of me drawing around (creating an area of interest) the habitat surrounding my 400 acres. I've seen it on an aerial image and now I know kinda sorta how much of what. Now we can start to compare notes at a more meaningful level. That's my thought.upload_2017-3-28_21-40-57.png

This is interesting to me, and I know you're a big map guy. Have you fooled around much with qgis? I just downloaded it and it seems pretty intimidating. I'd like to get one of those silver relief maps of my land at some point.

Wow, I'm going to be bookmarking this for certain.